Board of Directors

Board Chair - Liz Musch

Board Chair Liz Musch brings 30+ years of global business, marketing and branding experience to Earth Law Center.


Rellie pic.jpg

Board Treasurer - Rellie Seville

Board Treasurer Rellie brings 20+ years of financial experience as Head of Finance for a range of industries including design/architecture, public relations and medical information technology.


BOARD secretary - Elise d. garcia

Board Secretary Elise Garcia brings 20+ years of experience in nonprofit communications, development, and strategic planning. 


Board Member - anthony R. zelle

Anthony R. Zelle, a founder of Zelle, McDonough & Cohen, led the Earth Law panel discussion at the Vermont Law School Symposium in October 2018, spoke on indigeneity at the Coming Together of Peoples Conference at Wisconsin Law School and leads ELC's Earth Law textbook project.



BOARD MEMBER - Joanne Borek

Joanne is a Digital Marketing and Creative Leader offering her clients 20+ years experience with a proven track record in integrated marketing, digital strategy, social media, and e-business solutions. 


BOARD MEMBER - Rachelle Adam

Rachelle Adam.jpg

Rachelle has 25 years of experience in “rights for nature” legal issues. As an attorney for Israel’s Environment Ministry, she worked extensively on nature protection and biodiversity issues.


Advisory Council

Cormac Cullinan.png

Cormac Cullinan is a practicing environmental attorney and author based in Cape Town, South Africa. He directs the environmental law firm Cullinan & Associates Inc., and the consultancy EnAct International. A former anti-apartheid activist, he has practiced, taught and written about environmental law in over 20 countries. Mr. Cullinan notably authored “Wild Law.,” which laid the groundwork for the rights of nature movement world-wide. He was also the lead author of the Universal Declaration of the Rights of Mother Earth, approved by over 30,000 attendees at the April 2010 “World People’s Conference on Climate Change and the Rights of Mother Earth” in Bolivia. He is a graduate of the University of Natal and the University of London (Kings College). 


Linda Sheehan is the former Executive Director of Earth Law Center and now the Executive Director of the Planet Pledge Alliance. Prior to ELC, Linda took action on behalf of California’s waterways and ocean habitats as Executive Director of the California Coastkeeper Alliance, and as Pacific Region Office Director for the Ocean Conservancy. For her efforts in “fight[ing] pollution of the Pacific and the streams and rivers that flow into it,” Linda was recognized as a “California Coastal Hero” by Sunset Magazine and the California Coastal Commission. Linda holds a B.S. in Chemical Engineering with a Concentration in Economics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; an M.P.P. from the University of California, Berkeley's Goldman School of Public Policy; and a J.D. from the University of California, Berkeley's School of Law. 

Peter Barnes.png

Peter Barnes is an entrepreneur and writer who has founded and led socially and environmentally sustainable businesses. In 1976 Mr. Barnes co-founded a worker-owned solar energy company in San Francisco, and in 1983 he co-founded Working Assets Money Fund. He subsequently served as president of Working Assets Long Distance, and in 1995 he was named Socially Responsible Entrepreneur of the Year for Northern California. He is the author of numerous books including “Who Owns the Sky? Our Common Assets and the Future of Capitalism,” and “Capitalism 3.0.” In 1997, Mr. Barnes founded the Mesa Refuge, a writers’ retreat in northern California. Mr. Barnes earned a B.A. in History from Harvard and an M.A. in Government from Georgetown.   

Joshua Farley.png

Joshua Farley is a Fellow at the Gund Institute for Ecological Economics and Associate Professor in Community Development & Applied Economics and Public Administration at the University of Vermont. Dr. Farley previously served as Executive Director of the University of Maryland International Institute for Ecological Economics, and taught under a Fulbright Fellowship in Brazil. Dr. Farley’s work focuses on the design of an economy that balances what is biophysically possible with what is socially, psychologically and ethically desirable. He is co-author with Herman Daly of “Ecological Economics, Principles and Applications.” He earned a B.A. in Biology from Grinnell College, an MIA in Economic and Political Development from Columbia, and a Ph.D. in Agricultural Resource & Managerial Economics from Cornell. 

Randy Hayes.png

Randy Hayes is a Principle Organizer of the new non-profit Foundation Earth, focusing on the economic model for deep long-term sustainability. Mr. Hayes founded Rainforest Action Network in 1985 and sits on its Board of Directors, advancing corporate accountability campaigns, rainforest advocacy and support for the rights of indigenous peoples. In city government, Randy was President of the San Francisco Commission on the Environment, and Director of Sustainability under Oakland Mayor Jerry Brown. He has also worked at the International Forum on Globalization. Mr. Hayes holds a Master’s degree in Environmental Planning from San Francisco State University, has been a documentary filmmaker, and contributed to the book “Alternatives to Economic Globalization: A Better World is Possible.”

Terry ODay.png

Terry O'Day leads California business development for eVgo, which is developing the nation’s electric car charging infrastructure ( Mr. O'Day was formerly Executive Director of Environment Now in Santa Monica, California, where he was responsible for the strategic direction, development, and day-to-day operations of this foundation. Mr. O'Day is also a City Council Member for the City of Santa Monica, where he served as Chair of the City’s Planning Commission, member of the Sustainable City Task Force, and Advisory Board Member of Solar Santa Monica. Mr. O'Day holds an M.B.A. from The UCLA Anderson School of Management, completed the Coro Public Affairs Fellows Program in Los Angeles, and received a B.A. with Honors in Public Policy from Stanford University.